Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Measument Technology and Experimental Methods (MET)

Profile Sensor
  • Measurement and diagnostic procedures in gas and liquid-metal cooled systems
  • Thermal hydraulics in gas and liquid-metal cooled systems
  • Physical model validation, fluid-structure interaction 
  • Mass transfer, corrosion and erosion phenomena
  • Diagnosis on accident scenarios and leckages
  • Magnet safety, arcing

The activities encompass the development, adaption and characterization of measurement techniques and analysis procedures, as well as the planning/designing of experiments in the viewpoint of reduced and quantifiable errors and cross sensitivities. The group uses several flow measurement systems (Laser Doppler Anemometry, Particle Image Velocimetry, Laser Induced Fluorescence, Hot Wire Anemometry), gas analysis instruments (Quadrupole mass spectrometer, In-sito probes for specific gases) as well as high speed imaging, thermal imaging cameras and deformation measurement techniques (strain gages and customized micro capacitive displacement sensors), integrated with by PC based data acquisition systems. Several gas circulation loops (HELOKA-LP, FLEX, L-STAR) are operated by the group, as well as further facilities (LONGARC and VACARC arcing experiments) and laboratories (more information)

Current activities concern the following projects and working fields:

  • Experimental design validation and design support for the IFMIF high flux test module (HFTM): Intensively heated low Reynolds minichannel gas flow, fluid-structure interaction by thermo-mechanically induced channel deformation
  • High-purity gas analytics, gas purification and partitioning processes, determination of impurity source terms for helium gas loops (more information)
  • Investigation of flow phenomena of the HCPB Test Blanket Module: Distribution of coolant flow by the manifold cascade to parallel subcomponents (GRICAMAN experiment), determination of the local heat transfer in the cooling channels of the blanket’s plasma heated first wall (HETRA experiment)
  • Basic investigations of the thermal hydraulics of gas cooled reactors in the framework of several projects (THINS, GoFastR, L-STAR)
  • Investigations (experiments and modelling) of safety aspects of magnet coils and current supplies in fusion reactors, arcing experiments (MAGS, LONGARC, VACARC) (more information)
  • Design of experiment for the IFMIF Tritium Release Test Module: Determination of tritium release rates and instrumentation of the in-situ irradiaton experiment (more information)

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Messtechnik und experimentelle Methodik (MET)

Profilsensor
  • Mess- und Diagnoseverfahren in Gas- u. Flüssigmetallsystemen
  • Thermohydraulik in Gas- und Flüssigmetallapplikationen
  • Validierung physikalischer Modelle, Strömungs-Struktur-Interaktion 
  • Stofftransport, Korrosions- u. Erosionsphänomene
  • Diagnose bei Unfallszenarien und Leckage
  • Magnetsicherheit

Zu den Tätigkeiten gehört die bedarfsgerechte Entwicklung, Adaption und Charakterisierung von Messtechniken und Auswertealgorithmen, sowie die Experimentplanung mit Hinsicht auf Quantifizierung und Minimierung der Fehlerquellen und Quereinflüsse. Zur Ausstattung der Gruppe gehören diverse Strömungsmesstechniken (Laser Doppler Anemometrie, Particle Image Velocimetry, Laser Induced Fluorescence, Hitzdraht-Anemometrie etc.), qasanaytische Geräte (Quadrupol Massenspektrometer, In-Situ Sonden für diverse Gase), sowie Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras und eine Infrarotkamera, Deformationsmesstechniken (DMS, kapazitive Sensoren) sowie einige PC-gestützte Messdatenerfassungssysteme. Die Gruppe betreibt diverse Gaskreisläufe (HELOKA-LP, FLEX, L-STAR) und weitere Versuchsanlagen (LONGARC, VACARC) und Labors mit Kleinexperimenten und Vorversuchen. (mehr zur Ausstattung)

Aktuelle Arbeiten betreffen folgende Projekte und Aufgabenbereiche:

  • Experimentelle Designvalidierung und Designunterstützung für das IFMIF Hochfluss Testmodul: Intensiv beheizte Strömung in Minikanälen, Strömungs-Struktur-Interaktion durch thermomechanisch induzierte Kanaldeformation
     
  • Reingasanalytik, Gasreinigungs- und Trennverfahren sowie Verunreinigungsquelltermbestimmung für Helium-Gaskreisläufe (mehr Informationen)
     
  • Untersuchung der Strömungsphänomene im HCPB Test Blanket Modul: Verteilung (Manifolds)des Kühlgasstromes auf parallelgeschaltete Subkomponenten (GRICAMAN Experiment), Bestimmung des lokalen Wärmeüberganges in den Kühlkanälen der plasmabeheizten Blanketwand (HETRA Experiment)
     
  • Grundlagenuntersuchungen zur Thermohydraulik von gasgekühlten Reaktoren (THINS, GoFastR, L-STAR)
     
  • Untersuchung der Sicherheitsaspekte für Magnetspulen und Stromzuführungen von Fusionsreaktoren, Lichtbogenexperimente (MAGS, LONGARC, VACARC) (mehr Informationen)
     
  • Experimentplanung für das IFMIF Tritium Release Test Modul: Bestimmung von Tritium Permeationsraten und Entwurf der Gasanalytik (mehr Informationen)