Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

The "International Fusion Materials Irradiation Facility" IFMIF

Materials Research for Fusion Power Reactors

Abstract

The International Fusion Materials Facility (IFMIF) is projected for research on material behaviour under high-energy, fusion relevant neutron irradiation. It is dedicated to deliver a material database for the construction of fusion reactors such as DEMO and future fusion power plants. IFMIF is therefore a relevant step on the progress towards harnessing fusion power as a reliable, safe and sustainable source of energy.

IFMIF will provide an accelerator based neutron source, with an optimized neutron energy spectrum. Behind the neutron source, several irradiation experiments (test modules) will be installed, to contain material specimen for post irradiation examination, or for in-situ experiments.

The IFMIF project is currently being advanced in the “Engineering Validation and Engineering Design Activities” (EVEDA) phase, as a joint effort of Japan and several European countries. At KIT, subsystems of the test facilities are being developed and tested, namely the High Flux Test Module and the Target- and Testcell, as well as other devices and facilities.


IFMIF-Facility

Background and Mission

Concept

Development

Recent Publications

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

„International Fusion Materials Irradiation Facility“ IFMIF

Materialforschung für die Fusionstechnologie

Die “International Fusion Materials Irradiation Facility” (IFMIF) wird als Forschungseinrichtung zur experimentellen Untersuchung der Materialeigenschaften unter hochenergetischer fusionsrelevanter Neutronenstrahlung projektiert. Es ist das Ziel, eine Material-Datenbank für die Konstruktion von Fusionsreaktoren wie DEMO sowie zukünftigen Fusionskraftwerken bereit zu stellen. IFMIF ist daher ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg, Kernfusion als verlässliche, sichere und nachhaltige Energiequelle nutzbar zu machen.

IFMIF wird eine auf einem Beschleuniger basierte Neutronenquelle beinhalten, welche ein optimiertes Neutronen-Enegriespektrum generiert. Hinter der Neutronenquelle werden mehrere Bestrahlungsexperimente installiert, die Materialproben zur Bestrahlung und Nachuntersuchung beinhalten, oder wo in-situ Experimente durchgeführt werden können.

Das IFMIF Projekt wird derzeit im Rahmen der „Engineering Validation and Engineering Design Activities“ (EVEDA) als gemeinschaftliches Vorhaben von Japan und einigen europäischen Ländern vorangebracht. Am KIT werden Subsysteme der „Test Facilities“ entwickelt und getestet, wobei insbesonders das Hochfluss Testmodul (HFTM) und die Testzelle (TTC) zu nennen sind.


IFMIF-Facility

Hintergrund und Auftrag

Konzept

Entwicklungsaufgaben

Publikationen