In Memoriam

The Institute of Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology (INR) and the Helmholtz Programs FUSION, NUSAFE, ESD and MTET bid farewell to




Professor Dr.-Ing. Robert Stieglitz




who passed away suddenly and unexpectedly on December 6, 2023 at the age of 58. Robert Stieglitz was appointed Director of the Institute of Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology in 2009.

He was a great person and internationally recognized scientist whose in-depth expertise and critical opinion were valued worldwide thanks to his broad knowledge in the areas of fusion research, nuclear technology and renewable energies.

With his friendly approach, his availability and especially his wealth of inspiration, he supported and motivated his colleagues, employees and cooperation partners. Robert Stieglitz was an enthusiastic scientist and university lecturer who enriched research and research-oriented teaching nationally and internationally. He promoted the merging of the KIT Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and large-scale research.

Our sympathy goes out to his family and relatives. We will always honor the memory of our Institute Director and colleague.

It was Professor Stieglitz's wish that no flowers or wreaths be laid at his grave on his passing, but that a donation may be made to charities such as:

 1) Karlsruhe House of Young Scientists (KHYS):

Purpose: Condolence donation Prof. Dr. Robert Stieglitz, account holder: KIT Foundation, IBAN: DE81 6605 0101 0108 1662 24; BIC: KARSDE66XXX; Sparkasse Karlsruhe

2) Children's hospice service:

Purpose: Children's hospice service, Condolence donation Prof. Dr. Robert Stieglitz, Account holder: Diakonisches Werk Karlsruhe, IBAN: DE03 6605 0101 0108 2061 37, BIC: KARSDE66XXX, Sparkasse Karlsruhe

Donors will receive a donation receipt if their name and address are included in the purpose of the transfer.


    Dr. Victor H. Sanchez Espinoza, Deputy Head of the Institute for Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology

     Dr. Klaus Hesch, Spokesperson KIT Program FUSION

     Dr. Walter Tromm, Spokesperson KIT Program NUSAFE

     Prof. Dr. Veit Hagenmeyer, Spokesperson KIT Program ESD

     Prof. Dr. Jörg Sauer, Spokesperson KIT Program MTET